Sepoy sets the standard at Flemington

Darley sires took the honours at Flemington on Saturday with a winning treble highlighted by Sepoy in the G2 Danehill Stakes.

The champion colt will now take on all-comers in the G1 Manikato Stakes at Moonee Valley on September 30.

Sepoy (Elusive Quality) was the star at headquarters ahead of Pinker Pinker (Reset) in the G2 Let’s Elope Stakes and Specter (Nadeem) in the Listed Henry Bucks Stakes.

Sepoy scored by a length from Starcraft filly Hallowell Belle who also ran second to him in the Blue Diamond.  “I told Kerrin (McEvoy) to hold him up and sit there for as long as possible,” trainer Peter Snowden said.  “We wanted to get him to breathe and relax and quicken when required.

“A month between runs is not an ideal scenario for a bloke like him but the Manikato Stakes is a Group 1 race and it’s a stallion-making race.”

Pinker Pinker (Reset) notched her second Group 2 in the Let’s Elope Stakes.  The Greg Eurell trained mare had won the G2 Angus Armanasco Stakes in February and has now earned over $485,000.

She was a $120,000 graduate from Milford Thoroughbreds at the 2009 Inglis Melbourne Premier yearling sale.

Zabeel stallion Reset has sired 14 stakes winners and his black-type strike-rate was second only to fellow Darley stallion Lonhro in 2010-11.

Specter (Nadeem) claimed the Henry Bucks and will now continue on a Caulfield Guineas campaign.  Bred by Tony Santic’s Makybe operation, he cost $80,000 at the 2010 Inglis Easter yearling sale.

Darley sire Nadeem finished his freshman year on top of the individual winners’ table along with Red Dazzler, All Bar One and fellow Darley sire Ad Valorem.  His two year-old leader Triple Asset was a stakes winner in Tasmania, Melbourne and Adelaide.

Darley homebred Ambidexter broke through for his first stakes success in the LR Ming Dynasty Stakes at Warwick Farm on Saturday.

The Commands colt is out of Dextrous (Quest For Fame) who won the G2 Sandown Guineas.  She has also foaled the Commands G1 winner Skilled.

Commands sired a benchmark 155 individual winners in 2010-11 with G1 Spring Champion Stakes winner Erewhon leading the charge.