Perth quinella for first-season sires

First season sires Street Sense and Soldier’s Tale were seen to advantage when their fillies filled out the Westspeed Plate (1000m) quinella at Ascot on Wednesday.

Sky Princess (2f Street Sense – Versailles Pike by Palace Music) gave the Darley shuttler his first winner in Australia. The Joe Byrne trained filly showed a brilliant turn of foot in the straight and then fought off Fine Copper who was brave in defeat. “She’s a really nice horse and showed her class out there,” Byrne said. “If she pulls up well, we will head to the Karrakatta Plate.”

The winner was a $100,000 buy as a foal at the 2010 Magic Millions National Sale. Street Sense was the first colt to ever complete the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile – Kentucky Derby double and he sired 11 first crop winners in the northern hemisphere last year.

Sky Princess is from Traralgon winner Versailles Pike who had already foaled winners by Umatilla (4), Dubai Destination (2), Encosta de Lago and Cape Cross.

Fine Copper (2f Soldier’s Tale – Lomas Bayas by Grand Lodge) was only beaten a neck after shadowing front-runner Culprit. She improved off a last-start placing at Ascot with the addition of blinkers and will also head to the G2 Karrakatta Plate.

She is a homebred for Yarradale Stud owner Ron Sayers after being withdrawn from the 2011 Perth Magic Millions. Sayers won a Karrakatta with Born Priceless in 2001.

Her dam Lomas Bayas was stakes placed at Belmont and she delivered a colt by Yarradale sire Scandal Keeper last year.

Soldier’s Tale (Stravinsky) stands at Swettenham Stud and there are three colts and a filly from his home base catalogued for the Adelaide Magic Millions on March 13 & 14.

The Nagambie nursery is prepping a colt and a filly as agent for Yarradale. The colt out of Canterbury Cross (Lot 140) hails from the family of iconic broodmare Franfreluche.

The filly from Dance On Wood (Lot 163) is a half-sister to three South African winners. Their dam won four races in Victoria and was G3 placed in a VRC St Leger and Ballarat Cup.