Commands creates new winners’ record

Darley stallion Commands smashed the individual winners record for an Australian sire when the 2010-11 season finished on Sunday night.

Commands sired his final new winner for the season when The Barracks won the Montroseaccess Charity Hcp (1200m) at Doomben on Saturday.  The Glenlogan Park homebred had not saluted since June 2010.

Commands (Danehill) finished 2010-11 with 155 individual winners of 265 races.  That figure smashed the previous record of 147 held by Encosta de Lago.  His winners arrived at a 48% strike-rate.

Commands sired 10 Australian stakes winners last season headlined by G1 Spring Champion Stakes winner Erewhon.

His black-type gallopers won over all distances, ages and with no sex-bias.  Among them were stakes winning juvenile colt Atomic and filly Altar along with three-year-old G2 winner Soul, stakes winning fillies and mares Palomares, Kanzan, Brasileira and Royal Commands, G1 sprinter First Command as well as the multiple stakes winning stayer Voice Commander.

Commands has the sire power to pass the best on to his progeny.  That’s borne out by the fact 36 of his 38 stakes winners are their dam’s best runner!